"Angels can fly because they take themselves lightly." – G. K. Chesterton

So, I Now Have a Blog.

Blogging started sometime in the 90’s and hit the big time around 2003 or so.  I’m starting my blog in 2011.  That seems about right for a guy who got his first laptop computer in 2005 and his first cell phone in 2006, and who still uses the phrase “laptop computer”.  If there’s any new technology that’s just becoming popular right now, expect me to start participating around 2020.

So, what can I say about my blog?  Well, first of all, I don’t like blogs.  I’m not talking about the concept–I’ll get to that in a minute–but rather the word “blog”.  The phrase “web log” perfectly communicates the idea of a log that’s on the internet.  The word “blog”, on the other hand, is a vulgar condensation of “web log” that communicates nothing.  Why are we so obsessed with minimizing the number of letters used these days?  Lord knows, shortening “omnibus” to “bus” was bad enough.

Now on the the idea of a blog.  I don’t like the concept very much either.  Bloggers have been pretentious from the start.  Andrew Sullivan’s slogan sums up the problem perfectly: “The revolution will be blogged.”  Really?  The mere fact that a bunch of persons are posting paragraphs on the internet will change the world?  Kind of like that Twitter Revolution that was supposed to bring democracy to Iraq?  Ten years after the fact, it’s clear that blogging hasn’t fulfilled the high hopes that the pioneers set out with.

So, with that said, why am I blogging?  Well, I don’t really know.  Is it because I have stuff to say that I want to get off my chest?  Because I need something to fill my time?  Or is it just because?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

