"Angels can fly because they take themselves lightly." – G. K. Chesterton

Dead blogs

I encounter a certain problem while trying to find good blogs to read. I search for a topic that I care about, such as “Chesterton” or “white water rafting” and find an interesting post. I start to think that I’ve finally found someone whose blog is worth following. Then I got to their home page and see that they haven’t posted for a year or more. It makes the search difficult and frustrating.

What’s worse still is that it’s perfectly understandable. The internet is necessarily one of the lowest priorities in a person’s life. It is entirely reasonable that someone should start a blog, post a few times, and then abandon it because they’re busy with real life, or they joined a different blog elsewhere, or perhaps they just got bored. In fact, while this is my first blog, I’ve logged on to dozens of different web communities in my life and then left after a few days or weeks. I’ll bet that you have too.

What I find really strange is that you may read this complaint about abandoned blogs on an abandoned blog. I posted this on February 9, 2011, but I have no clue when you’ll come along and read it. you may be reading it a year later, or ten years, or a hundred years. I may be dead by the time you read this.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

